Skip to content

Announcing the SHPE 2023 STAR Award Honorees


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – The prestigious SHPE Technical Achievement and Recognition (STAR) Awards recognize those in STEM who are changing lives through their community outreach, work, and research. The honorees were selected by a diverse review committee based on individual guidelines for each award, as well as those they felt represented the very best in STEM and the embodiment of SHPE’s mission and vision.

Company of the Year
Bank of America
(pictured above)

Academic Institution of the Year
The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Hispanic Employee Resource Group of the Year
Chevron Corporation

Rodrigo Garcia Founder’s Award
Julio Grapa

Jaime Oaxaca Award
Antonina Robles
HP Inc.

Dr. Ellen Ochoa Award
Brenda Isaza
The Boeing Company

Rubén Hinojosa STEM Champion Award
Antonio Tijerino
Hispanic Heritage Foundation

Rubén Hinojosa STEM Champion Award
Ray Mellado (1948-2022)
Great Minds in STEM

Climate Sustainability Award
Dr. Miguel O. Román

Community Service Award
Saul Montano

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Award
Angela M. Rucks
Bank of America

Educator Achievement Award – Higher Education
Juan D. Ocampo
St. Mary’s University

Entrepreneur Award
Dr. Isaac Rodriguez
SweetBio, Inc.

Executive Achievement Award – Corporate
Dr. Sandra Hernández
Chevron Corporation

Executive Achievement Award – Government
Ivan Pereira
Naval Surface Warfare Center

Innovator Award
Marc Velasco

Managerial Excellence Award – Corporate
Alonso Navarrete
Cummins Inc.

Managerial Excellence Award – Government
Briana Marie Pierce
United States Air Force

Role Model Award – Graduate
Carolina A. Colón
Georgia Institute of Technology

Role Model Award – Professional
Benjamin Gonzalez Vazquez
Bechtel Global Corporation

Role Model Award – Undergraduate
Leah Flores-Cabrera
Michigan State University

STAR of Today Award – Corporate
Krystal Puga
Northrop Grumman Corporation

STAR of Today Award – Government
Anthony Louis Garcia
Sandia National Laboratories

STAR of Tomorrow Award – Corporate
Ernesto E Covarrubias
The Boeing Company

STAR of Tomorrow Award – Government
Iker Liceaga-Indart

STEM Warrior Award
Paola Estrada
United States Air Force

Young Investigator Award
Joaquin Resasco
The University of Texas at Austin

The STAR Award honorees will be recognized during the SHPE National Convention being held in Salt Lake City, Utah on November 1-5. They will be presented during two different ceremonies: the Excellence in STEM Luncheon on Thursday from 12:00-1:30pm and the STAR Awards Ceremony on Friday from 7:00-9:00pm.

SHPE: Leading Hispanics in STEM, a national organization representing Hispanic professionals and students in STEM, will host its 47th National Convention in Salt Lake City, Utah at the Salt Palace Convention Center, November 1 through 5, 2023.  The largest gathering of Hispanic STEM talent in the nation, the event is expected to be attended by 10,000 students, professionals, academia, and industry leaders.

About SHPE:

SHPE (Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers) is a nonprofit organization serving and advancing Hispanics in STEM. With more than 14,000 student and professional members, SHPE’s mission is to change lives by empowering the Hispanic community to realize its fullest potential and to impact the world through STEM awareness, access, support, and development. For more information please visit