Skip to content

STAR Awards

SHPE proudly recognizes and celebrates its SHPE Technical Achievement and Recognition (STAR) Award recipients each year during the SHPE National Convention.

These prestigious awards honor outstanding professionals and students for their dedication, commitment, and selfless efforts to advance Hispanics in STEM careers. The STAR Awards also recognize a company and government agency for demonstrating significant, measurable, and visible assistance to further SHPE’s programs as well as Hispanics in STEM. Please join us at the National Convention to honor and recognize all of our award winners!

Do you know someone who should be honored with a STAR Award? Please look for the nomination application in early Spring. If you would like further details, please email [email protected].

SHPE proudly recognizes and celebrates its SHPE Technical Achievement and Recognition (STAR) Award recipients each year during the SHPE National Convention.

Do you know someone who should be honored with a STAR Award? Please review the information below and submit your nomination by May 30.

2024 Call for Nominations

Do you know a STAR in STEM?

Do they also represent SHPE’s values of familia, education, service, and resilience? If so, we hope you’ll nominate them for a 2024 STAR Award!

The SHPE Technical Achievement and Recognition (STAR) Awards recognize those in STEM who are changing lives through their community outreach, work, and research. We encourage you to nominate those you feel represent the best in STEM and embody the SHPE vision.
Please review the brochure carefully as some changes have been made to the STAR Awards for 2024.
The winners will be announced in the Fall and celebrated in November during the 2024 SHPE National Convention in Anaheim, CA. Completed nominations are due May 30, 2024.
If you have questions about the awards, please contact [email protected].


Watch the informational session from June 8 about the SHPE Technical Achievement and Recognition (STAR) Award nomination and selection process led by Chair Diana Gomez and the STAR Awards Committee.

In addition to the recording, the presentation slides may be downloaded here.

2023 STAR Award Honorees

Company of the Year

Bank of America

Academic Institution of the Year

The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Hispanic ERG of the Year

Chevron Corporation

Rodrigo Garcia Founder's Award

Julio Grapa

Jaime Oaxaca Award​

Antonina Robles
HP Inc.

Dr. Ellen Ochoa Award

Brenda Isaza
The Boeing Company

Rubén Hinojosa STEM Champion Award

Antonio Tijerino
The Hispanic Heritage Foundation

Rubén Hinojosa STEM Champion Award

Ray Mellado (1948-2022)
Great Minds in STEM

Climate Sustainability Award

Dr. Miguel O. Román

Community Service Award

Saul Montano

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Award

Angela M. Rucks
Bank of America

Educator Achievement Award - Higher Education

Juan D. Ocampo
St. Mary's University

Entrepreneur Award

Dr. Isaac Rodriguez
SweetBio, Inc.

Executive Achievement Award - Corporate

Dr. Sandra Hernández
Chevron Corporation

Executive Achievement Award - Government

Ivan Pereira
Naval Surface Warfare Center

Innovator Award

Marc Velasco

Managerial Excellence Award - Corporate

Alonso Navarrete
Cummins Inc.

Managerial Excellence Award - Government

Briana Marie Pierce
United States Air Force

Role Model Award - Graduate

Carolina A. Colón
Georgia Institute of Technology

Role Model Award - Professional

Benjamin Gonzalez Vazquez
Bechtel Global Corporation

Role Model Award - Undergraduate

Leah Flores-Cabrera
Michigan State University

STAR of Today Award -Corporate

Krystal Puga
Northrop Grumman Corporation

STAR of Today Award - Government

Anthony Louis Garcia
Sandia National Laboratories

STAR of Tomorrow Award - Corporate

Ernesto E Covarrubias
The Boeing Company

STAR of Tomorrow Award - Government

Iker Liceaga-Indart

STEM Warrior Award

Paola Estrada
United States Air Force

Young Investigator Award

Joaquin Resasco
The University of Texas at Austin

2024 STAR Awards Brochure

The 2023 STAR Awards nominations are due May 30, 2024.

Company of the Year

Cummins Inc.

Government Agency of the Year

National Security Agency

Hispanic ERG of the Year

ExxonMobil Global Organization for the Advancement of Latinos

Rubén Hinojosa STEM Award

U.S. Senator Alex Padilla, California

Rubén Hinojosa STEM Award

U.S. Senator John Cornyn, Texas

Rubén Hinojosa STEM Award

Congressman Tony Cardenas, California, U.S. House of Representatives

Rubén Hinojosa STEM Award

Congresswoman Maria Elvira Salazar, Florida, U.S. House of Representatives

Jaime Oaxaca Award

Nora E. Rincon
General Motors

Rodrigo Garcia Founder’s Award

The Garcia Family

Dr. Ellen Ochoa Award

Joelle C. Romeu
The Boeing Company

Advisor of the Year

Julieta O. Vallejos
Florida International University

Community Service Award

Mónica Morales, PE

Corporate Achievement Award

Carlos L. Enllanche

Diversity Award

Maira Garcia
Honeywell Aerospace

Educator of the Year – K-12

César Alejandro Llontop Barahona
New London Adult & Continuing Education

Hispanic in Technology Award – Government

Rudy J. Garcia
Sandia National Laboratories

Innovator Award

Dr. Marvi A. Matos Rodriguez
The Boeing Company

Manager of the Year

Gerardo Zúñiga Guerra

Professional Role Model Award

Lázaro Herrera
General Atomics ASI

Promising Engineer Award

Hector Sabillon
John Deere

SHPE Star of Today

Gabriela Michel Sánchez-Sorondo
General Motors

SHPE Star of Tomorrow

Milena Nino Sowell
ExxonMobil Corporation

Student Role Model Award – Undergraduate

Justin J. Arbaiza
California State University Northridge

Student Role Model Award – Graduate

Adriana Mulero-Russe
Georgia Institute of Technology

Young Investigator Award

Dr. Yvonne J. Diaz
Dow, Inc